Growing up my Mom always baked some sort yummy treat for us and it was waiting in the cookie jar when we got home from school. One kind she used to make were these.Everyone liked them and I added some choc chips to half the batter since my boys are chocchipaholics. One problem we have is we have to remember to put them in the microwave when we leave or the big dog will have a snack. Well remember no more I found some Xena proof cookie jars.I found them at target and they were $9 total. My kind of bargain. They remind me of the kind you find in a candy store or bakery. Here’s the recipe for anyone interested.Let me know how you like them.

TEA  CAKES

½ CUP BUTTER

1 CUP SUGAR

1 EGG

2 CUPS FLOUR

¾ CUP BUTTERMILK

½ TSP BAKING SODA

1 TSP VANILLA

½ TSP SALT

Choc chips (Optional)

COMBINE ALL INGREDIENTS AND CHILL

DROP ON GREASED BAKING SHEET, SPRINKLE WITH  ADDITIONAL ½ CUP OF SUGAR AND 1 TSP OF CINNAMON

BAKE IN 375º OVEN FOR 7-8 MINUTES

Hmmm wonder what she thinks she’s going to find.

